Jewish End-of-Life Wisdom
Home  »  News Feed

Kavod v’Nichum and Gamliel Institute News

Resources for Virtual Shmirah


Study Group Discussion Offerings

  • Ma’avar Yabbok Study Group
    October 1 – December 24, 2020
    Facilitated by Rabbi Steve Moss
    Thursdays 1:00pm EDT, 10:00am PDT for 90 minutes each class
    $118 for the series – Click here to register

Discussion and text study of a new translation and modern understanding of this foundational book.


Coronavirus (COVID-19) Latest News

For information about health and safety in the taharah room, new alternative taharah rituals, ...
Questions and answers regarding taharah and Coronavirus, view the recording of the recent webinar with a panel of experts, lists of articles including infection control, and more,  visit our central  “Coronavirus and Jewish Death Practices” page.  

Upcoming Taste of Gamliel Short Courses

To view recordings of past Taste of Gamliel Short Courses...
Please contact our Registrar (J.Blair@Jewish-Funerals.org), or simply register for the course (even though it has already happened), and you will be emailed the link to the recording.


  • Going Deeper With Shmirah - Part 2
    Building a Citywide Community in the 21st Century
    Gail Tosto and Friends
    Thursday, October 29, 8:00pm-9:30pm EDT; 5:00pm-6:30pm PDT
      • Shmirah Handbook – a template for your community
      • Shmirah Organizing – outreach and retention of volunteers
      • Shmirah Signup system – demo and video link
      • Shmirah Suitcase
      • Filling in with paid shomrim
  • Forgotten Mourners with Rabbi Daniel Greyber
    Thursday November 5, 2020, 8:00pm EDT; 5:00pm PDT

Jewish law defines the mourning process for a parent, spouse, sibling, and child. But what happens when we lose someone who does not fit in those categories? Author of Faith Unravels: A Rabbi’s Struggle with Grief and God, Rabbi Daniel Greyber will recall his own experience of being a forgotten mourner after the death of two close friends and we will explore how we can build communities that acknowledge all who grieve and help them to heal.

Register Here

 


Upcoming Gamliel Core Curriculum Courses

Registration is Open
For more information about upcoming courses click here.

Back to Top


Recent Articles of Interest

Articles about the pandemic are not included here, but links to articles are listed on our Coronavirus and Jewish Death Practices page.

  • Poem about pandemics, March 11, 2020 – Poem by Lynn Ungar
  • Join the fight against hatred and antisemitism, take action in support of those killed this past year, including 11 Jews in Pittsburgh. – 11 Actions for 11 Lives

Back to Top

 


Online Videos Related to Jewish Death Practices

 

Back to Top

 


Find Us on Social Media

Back to Top